Thursday, April 10, 2008

Magazine editor, columnist candidates for World Press Freedom Prize

The former editor of Toro magazine and a current columnist for Maclean's are among four Canadian journalists who are finalists for the annual World Press Freedom prize.

Author Derek Finkle, formerly the editor of Toro, Maclean's columnist Mark Steyn, Bill Schiller, Toronto Star Asia correspondent and freelance journalists and reporters Joel-Denis Bellavance and Gilles Toupin of Montreal's La Presse will be considered for the $2,000 prize.

It is awarded each year to the Canadian media worker who, in the view of the jury, has made the most significant contribution to press freedom in this country over the previous 12 months. Past winners have included the Vancouver Sun's Kim Bolan, Haroon Siddiqui (Toronto Star), Andrew McIntosh (National Post), Tarek Fatah (Canadian Islamic Congress), andDr. John Hoey (Canadian Medical Association Journal).

The prize will be awarded by the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom at a lunch event marking World Press Freedom Day on Friday, May 2nd at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home