Wednesday, February 17, 2010

PWAC launches two major new writing awards

The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) has launched two major new writing awards -- one for feature length stories (over 1,200 words) and one for shorter pieces.Deadline for entry is March 19.
“These awards will showcase the excellence of Canadian writers,” said PWAC President Tanya Gulliver. “Our goal is for these awards to eventually become some of Canada’s premier prizes for writing. PWAC is Canada’s largest organization representing freelance writers, and our awards will celebrate that.”

Entries must have been published in a paying Canadian print or web media outlet in 2009. The first prize in each category has a $500 value, including a free PWAC membership for a year (if eligible).
 Entry requirements are detailed here.



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Let's see, $500 prize, and a $25 entry fee. So it's turning a profit after the 20th submission. Nice fundraiser, PWAC!

3:09 pm  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

No, no, members only win $250. So the profit is after 10 members enter :)

10:43 am  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home