Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Strong showing by magazine writers as Writers' Trust finalists

Michael Helm
With the announcement of finalists for the Writers' Trust Awards, several Canadian magazines have seen writers they featured nominated for the McClelland and Stewart Journey Prize: Devon Code for his story "Uncle Oscar" in The Malahat Review; Krista Foss for "The Longitude of Okay" in Grain magazine; and Lyn Kutsukake for "Mating" in The Dalhousie Review.
Paul Quarrington, a multiple magazine award winner, author and musician, who died in January, is being honoured posthumously with the Matt Cohen Award in Celebration of the Writing Life. In his relatively short working life, Quarrington won 4 gold national magazine awards and 1 silver.
Trevor Cole
Michael Helm, the editor of Brick magazine and Trevor Cole, a frequent magazine award winner, now living in Hamilton, are finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize: Cole for his book Practical Jean; Helm for Cities of Refuge.  Cole has won 2 gold national magazine awards and 7 silver, most recently for his 2007 article Art Wars in Toronto Life.
James Fitzgerald
 James FitzGerald won a gold and an honourable mention in the 2002 National Magazine Awards for an article in Toronto Life that led to his book What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son's Quest to Redeem the Past, now a finalist in the Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize. 
The Writers' Trust Awards prizes will be given at a gala on Tuesday, November 2 at the Carlu in Toronto



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Wow, and not a woman among them? Doesn't look all that strong to me.

4:12 pm  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home