Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Finalists announced for Kenneth R. Wilson Awards for b2b publishing

The finalists for the 61st Kenneth R. Wilson awards honouring business-to-business magazine publishing in Canada have been announced.

The finalists for Magazine of the Year are
  • Professional Division: CPA Magazine, Marketing, University Affairs
  • Trade Division: Canadian Grocer, Oilsands Review, Renovation Contractor
CPA Magazine leads among multiple nominees, with 20, followed by University Affairs and Professionally Speaking/Pour parler profession, each with 10 nominations and Les Affaires with 8. 
Among the nominees who are first-time participants: Aboriginal Business Quarterly, Canadian HR Reporter, Corporate Risk Canada, Hardlines Home Improvement Quarterly, NaturalResources Magazine, Sketch, Skies and Vertical.

The magazines in contention for the special award Best Issue of 2014 are Canadian Architect, CPA Magazine, Foodservice and Hospitality, Precedent, Pour parler profession and University Affairs. 

In the special category Best Cover, the seven finalists are Benefits Canada, Canadian Grocer, Canadian Lawyer, Education Forum, Foodservice and Hospitality, Professionally Speaking, and first-time participant Skies.
In written categories, individual multiple nominees are 
  • Deanne Gage leads with 3 nominations for pieces published in CPA Magazine and FORUM Magazine.
  • Yan Barcelo, Mary Baxter, Yves Bonneau, SteveBouchard, Paul Brent, Melissa Campeau, Peter Cater, Melissa Di Costanzo, Colin Ellis, Emmanuèle Garnier, Julia Kuzeljevich, Leah Lawrence, John Lorinc, Daniel Punch, Natalie Samson, Rosanna Tamburri, Robert Thompson and Lisa van de Geyn.
In visual and integrated categories, multiple nominees are:
  • Art directors Charles Desgroseillers, Barbara Woolley, as well as illustrator Jem Sullivan and photographer Markian Lozowchuk received 2 nominations each for their work in Les Affaires, USTC Commons, Hotelier, Foodservice and Hospitality, CPA Magazine and Professionally Speaking.
In. Best Art Direction of a Complete Issue, nominees include art directors Glenn Taylor for Marketing, Gilbert Li for Precedent, Dominic Ayre for Sketch and Barbara Woolley for USTC Commons (with 2 nominations).
Here are the top nominated magazines:
The gala event at which the winners are named will be held on June 2, 2015 at One King Street West. Tickets are on sale now. The host for the evening will be John Milne, the president of Breakwell & Company and VP of Media Services at Equisoft.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home