Thursday, November 10, 2016

Digital Publishing Awards broadens, adds categories for Yr 2 and includes $500 for gold

The National Magazine Awards Foundation has announced the new category lineup for its 2nd annual Digital Publishing Awards. There will be awards in 22 categories focussing on the work of Canadian digital creators, while reflecting new trends and attitudes toward digital publishing and content, said a release. In addition to changes and broadening of the category lineup, gold winners will now receive a $500 prize.

Entries will be accepted starting January 2. The deadline for submissions will be January 31. 
  • The top overall prize—General Excellence in Digital Publishing—will be presented in two divisions, for large and small publications.
Other new categories:
  • Best Social Storytelling
  • Best Online Video in 3 divisions:
  • Short (under 2 minutes)
  • Feature (2-5 minutes)
  • Mini-Doc (more than 5 minutes)
  • Best News Coverage in 2 divisions:
    • Provincial & Local
    • National & International
  • Best Personal Essay
  • Best Arts & Entertainment Story
  • Best Service Feature: Lifestyle
  • Best Service Feature: Family, Health & Careers
  • Best Fashion & Beauty
  • Emerging Excellence Award
  • Digital Publishing Leadership Award
The changes were made with the advice of an advisory committee including:
  • Craig Silverman, Editor-in-Chief, BuzzFeed Canada
  • Kenny Yum, Managing Editor, Huffington Post Canada
  • Kathy Vey, Executive Producer, Digital,
  • Haley Cullingham, Senior Editor, Digital, Hazlitt and Penguin Random House Canada
  • Laura de Carufel, Editor-in-Chief, The Kit
"After a successful inaugural year, the industry feedback clearly indicated there was a need to broaden the Digital Publishing Awards to be more inclusive of areas of excellence in the digital landscape," said NMAF president Nino Di Cara. "We surveyed our judges, sought feedback from our participants, and convened an Advisory Committee of industry experts to help shape the program for the future. Based on these learnings, the program has substantively evolved to recognize excellence in digital content and journalism, and in particular to call attention to the best practices and innovations in the craft. We believe the program this year reflects that enthusiasm."

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home