Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Magazine awards programs are merged

The National Media Awards Foundation and Magazines Canada have announced the merger of their respective awards programs into one.  

Starting December 1st, the National Magazine Awards will be a unified program of 29 categories to honour the outstanding achievements of our industry’s best creators and publishers, and reflect the exciting future of Canadian storytelling—the stories and perspectives that make it unique. Open to all Canadian creators and publications in both official languages, the National Magazine Awards recognize our country’s diverse communities of readers. 
“We are delighted to enter into this new chapter with Magazines Canada to amplify our shared purpose of championing the breadth of excellence and creativity in magazines through one awards program,” said Nino Di Cara, President of the National Media Awards Foundation.  
Last year, for the first time, the Magazine Grands Prix awards were launched by Magazines Canada in effective competition with the NMAs. Now, after extensive discussions,  the merger will blend the two, with the NMAs being given for writing and visual categories (as they have been for 40 years) and Grands Prix awards being given for best magazines in six categories.Plus two special awards will be made during the 41st annual awards: The Magazine Grand Prix for best magazine; and the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement,which recognizes an individual for innovation and creativity.

A third of the NMAF Board will now include magazine community members, who will be appointed in consultation with Magazines Canada. Jessica Johnson, executive editor and creative director from The Walrus, and Dominique Ritter, editor-in-chief from Reader’s Digest Canada were the first such appointees. 

The NMAF has also appointed two new executive members for 2018: Canada’s History Publisher Melony Ward has been elected vice-president for the National Magazine Awards program, and CBC News’ chief of staff Kenny Yum vice-president for the Digital Publishing Awards program, which had for several years been operated by the NMAF.

The complete list of NMAF Directors.  Below are the categories for the awards.
“We are thrilled to be collaborating with the National Media Awards Foundation; these unified awards will allow us to truly come together to celebrate the diversity and accomplishments of Canada’s magazine community,” said Matthew Holmes, President and CEO of Magazines Canada. 
Members of the magazine media community are invited to attend ‘Showcasing Success’, an industry networking event on November 2 in Toronto. Representatives from both Magazines Canada and the NMAF will be in attendance to celebrate the new relationship and share more information about the awards program.
Categories for 41st National Magazine Awards, 2018

Writing & Visual Awards, recognizing excellence by Canadian creators in print or digital magazines, include a cash prize of $1,000 to the Gold Medal winner. 
1. Long-Form Feature Writing 
2. Feature Writing 
3. Short Feature Writing 
4. Columns 
5. Essays 
6. Fiction 
7. Investigative Reporting 
8. Personal Journalism 
9. Poetry 
10. Professional Article 
11. Profiles 
12. Service Journalism 
13. Best New Magazine Writer 
14. Illustration 
15. Portraits Photography 
16. Lifestyle Photography 
17. Photo Essay & Photojournalism 
18. One of a Kind Storytelling 

Editorial Awards recognizing excellence by a team of magazine creators, editors and art directors in print or digital magazines. 
19. Best Art Direction of a Single Article 
20. Best Editorial Package 
21. Art Direction Grand Prix 
22. Cover Grand Prix 
23. Editor Grand Prix 

The Grands Prix: Best Magazine awards recognizing outstanding achievement in magazine publishing. 
24. General Interest 
25. Service 
26. Lifestyle 
27. Fashion & Beauty 
28. Art & Literary 
29. Special Interest 

Two special awards will also be presented at the 41st NMA Awards Gala. These awards are the highest honours bestowed to a magazine and an individual. 
  • The Magazine Grand Prix title will go to the Best Magazine winner which demonstrates overall excellence in bringing its publishing team together to create an outstanding product; and 
  • the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement, which recognizes an individual's innovation and creativity through contributions to the magazine industry. 

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home