Thursday, December 01, 2016

Squeezed out by contending awards, there will be no KRWs for b2b magazines this year

One of the casualties of the awards season in 2017 is that there will no longer be Kenneth R. Wilson Awards for trade and business-to-business publishing, which have been run in recent years by the Canadian Business Media (CBM). 

With the closure and sale of a swath of b2b properties (e.g. Rogers Media) and a defection from the National Magazine Awards of publishers from the organizing companies of the new Magazine Grands Prix under the auspices of Magazines Canada (St. Joseph Media, The Walrus Foundation, TVA Publications Inc., Reader's Digest and Rogers Publishing) the KRWs have been squeezed out. 

The National Magazine Awards Foundation has added a new award for "Best Professional Article", which will recognize excellence in business-to-business journalism meant to honour outstanding magazine writing dealing with subjects, practices, events or developments of importance to a professional industry. And b2b magazines may enter any of the written, visual and integrated categories of the 2017 lineup

The Magazine Grands Prix accepts entries in all its 26 award categories from eligible magazines, which include b2b. However there are no categories that are exclusively for trade pubs. 

The KRWs have been presented for 62 years and were named in honour of Kenneth R. Wilson an editor and writer who was active in a number of editor and journalist associations. A tragic airplane crash ended his distinguished career in January,1952 at the age of 47. 


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home