Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Entries are open for Digital Publishing Awards 2017; deadline Jan 31

The National Magazine Awards Foundation is now accepting entries for the 2017 Digital Publishing Awards, honouring excellence by Canada's digital publishers and creators in 22 awards categories. The deadline is January 31.

Entries are open to Canadian digital publishers and content creators whose work appeared during 2016. Eligible publications—including those that support established brands in magazine, newspaper, broadcast, B2B and other journalism, as well as those that serve their audiences exclusively as digital brands—is one with a permanent editorial staff in Canada and published in either English or French or a combination of both.

Awards for individual creators include a cash prize of $500. Entry fees for most awards is $95 at the early-bird rate (by January 20).

After its inauguration in 2016, the Digital Publishing Awards has expanded its program under the guidance of our Advisory Committee, feedback from participants and judges, and the NMAF Board of Directors. New this year:
  • The top overall prize—General Excellence in Digital Publishing—will be presented in two divisions, for large and small publications.
  • Other new categories include:
    • Best Social Storytelling
    • Best Online Video in 3 divisions:
    • Short (under 2 minutes)
    • Feature (2-5 minutes)
    • Mini-Doc (more than 5 minutes
    • Best News Coverage in 2 divisions:
    • Provincial & Local
    • National & International
  • Best Personal Essay
  • Best Arts & Culture
  • Best Service Feature: Lifestyle
  • Best Service Feature: Family, Health & Careers
  • Best Fashion & Beauty
  • Emerging Excellence Award
  • Digital Publishing Leadership Award
"In our second year as Canada's preeminent digital awards competition, the 2017 DPAs have expanded to reflect new trends and attitudes in digital publishing and content," said Nino Di Cara, president of the NMAF. "Over the past year, Canadian publishers and creators have thrilled audiences with informative and innovative digital journalism and storytelling. We are looking forward to rewarding the very best of Canada's digital creators."
Full press release

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home